The New School Commencement Ceremony

  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center 655 West 34th Street New York, NY, 10001 United States

Each year, The New School awards honorary degrees to individuals who exemplify the interests and ambitions of the graduating class. As part of our commencement ceremony, celebrated figures are heralded for their unique contributions and formally decreed members of this scholarly community.

Award recipients embody the university’s driving principles of academic freedom, tolerance, and creative experimentation. Like our students and alumni, New School honorary degree holders have included many bold innovators whose work across disciplines has addressed important contemporary issues.

Speakers and honorary degree recipients:

  • Laverne Cox
  • Mercedes Doretti
  • Diane von Furstenberg
  • DeRay Mckesson
  • David Miliband
  • Anita Sarkeesian
June 23